Residency Education Awards and Recognition

Kim L. Walker Teaching Award for Excellence in Teaching

Outstanding faculty achievement in didactic and/or clinical teaching of residents in the Department of Anesthesiology during the past academic year, as well as for excellence in serving as a mentor, building residents in the development of their careers in Anesthesiology at the Penn State College of Medicine.

2014-2015            Cathy Paige, M.D.
2013-2014            Cathy Paige, M.D.
2012-2013            Sanjib Adhikary, M.D.
2011-2012            Sanjib Adhikary, M.D.
2010-2011            W. Bosseau Murray, M.B., Ch.B.
2009-2010            Venugopal S. Reddy, M.D.
2008-2009            Venugopal S. Reddy, M.D.
2007-2008            W. Bosseau Murray, M.B., Ch.B.
2006-2007            J. Eric Greensmith, M.D., Ph.D.

Senior Faculty Teaching Award for Excellence in Teaching Associate Professors and Professors

2014-2015            Verghese Cherian, M.D
2013-2014            Verghese Cherian, M.D.
2012-2013            Khaled Sedeek, M.D.
2011-2012            W. Bosseau Murray, M.B., Ch.B.
2010-2011            Leonard Pott, M.B., BCh
2009-2010            W. Bosseau Murray, M.B., Ch.B.
2008-2009            W. Bosseau Murray, M.B., Ch.B.
2007-2008            Venugopal S. Reddy, M.D.
2006-2007            Venugopal S. Reddy, M.D.

Junior Faculty Teaching Award for Excellence in Teaching
Clinical Instructors and Assistant Professors

2014-2015            Carolyn A. Barbieri, M.D.
2013-2014            Carolyn A. Barbieri, M.D.
2012-2013            Carolyn A. Barbieri, M.D.
2011-2012            Carolyn A. Barbieri, M.D.
2010-2011            Sanjib Adhikary, M.D.
2009-2010            Carolyn A. Barbieri, M.D.
2008-2009            Michael S. Ingerski, M.D.
2007-2008            David A. Burns, M.D.
2006-2007            Arne Budde, M.D., D.E.A.A.

Resident Teaching Award for Excellence in Medical Student Teaching

2014-2015            Jason Conway, M.D. & S. Michael Roberts, D.O.
2013-2014            Theodore J. Cios, M.D., MPH & Michael Sharghi, M.D.
2012-2013            James Lamberg, D.O.
2011-2012            Theodore J. Cios, M.D.
2010-2011            Stephen Sardino, M.D.
2009-2010            Eric Chappell, D.O.
2008-2009            Richard Month, M.D.
2007-2008            Richard Month, M.D.
2006-2007            Matthew L. Stiles, M.D.

Outstanding Senior Resident Award for Excellence in the Operating Room presented by the Anesthesia Technicians

2014-2015            S. Michael Roberts, D.O.
2013-2014            Demetrius Karanzalis, D.O.
2012-2013            Sprague William Hazard, III, M.D.
2011-2012            Filip B. Trojanowski, M.D.
2010-2011            Shannon M. Kline, M.D.
2009-2010            Richard C. Month, M.D.
2008-2009            Pia V. Lippincott, M.D.
2007-2008            Richard Month, M.D.

Senior Resident Scholar Award

For consistent and excellent performance in all of the ACGME Core Competencies: Medical Knowledge, Patient Care, Interpersonal Communication Skills, Systems-Based Practice, Practice Based Learning and Improvement

2014-2015         Monique Mostert, M.D., Ashlee Pruett, D.O., Saifeldin Mahmoud, M.D., Ph.D., Sarah Nie, M.D., S. Michael Roberts, D.O.
2013-2014         Saifeldin Mahmoud, M.D., Ph.D., Sarah Nie, M.D., S. Michael Roberts, D.O., Justin Pachuski, M.D., Michael Sharghi, M.D.
2012-2013         Justin Pachuski, M.D.; Michael Sharghi, M.D.; David B. Owen, D.O.; Matthew Suchy, D.O.; Julie T. Vuong, M.D.
2011-2012         Jeremiah J. Blankenship, D.O.; David B. Owen, D.O.; Julie T. Vuong, M.D.

Junior Resident Professional Practice Award

For consistently displaying excellence of professionalism in patient care, accountability, mentoring, collegiality, integrity, and teamwork during your initial year of training at Penn State Hershey

2014-2015        Sara Brown, M.D., Roberts Schoaps, M.D., Sadie Smith, M.D., J. Alex Leckie, M.D.
2013-2014        Jacob Gillikin, M.D.
2012-2013        Kevin Funez, M.D.; Jennifer Sogge, M.D.
2011-2012        Bryan A. Currie, D.O.; James Lamberg, D.O.

Resident Research Publication Awards

2014-2015      Ashlee Pruett, D.O,, 1st Place, Brandon Bortz, M.D. 2nd Place
2013-2014      Saifeldin Mahmoud, M.D., Ph.D., 1st Place, James Lamberg, D.O., 2nd Place, S. Michael Roberts, D.O., 3rd Place
2012-2013      Michael Sharghi, M.D., 1st Place; Bunty Shah, M.D., 2nd Place
2011-2012      Ravish Kapoor, M.D., 1st Place; Sprague William Hazard, III, M.D., 2nd Place; Andaleeb A. Ahmed, M.D., 3rd Place


Case Conference Presentation Award

2014-2015      James Lamberg, D.O., 1st Place, Adam Schwarz, M.D., 2nd Place, S. Michael Roberts, D.O., 3rd Place
2013-2014      Bryan Currie, D.O., 1st Place, Meghan Whitley, D.O., 2nd Place, James Lamberg, D.O, 3rd Place


Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER) Resident Scholars and Grants

2014     Monique Mostert, M.D.; Ashlee Pruett, D.O.
2013     Jason Conway, M.D.; Sarah Nie, M.D.
2012     Theodore J. Cios, M.D., M.P.H.; Andrew T. Waberski, M.D.
2010     Saravanan Ramamoorthy, M.D.
2007     Shawn C. Murphy, D.O.
2006     Jason Bundy, M.D.; Sanjay Dabas, M.D.
2005     Jennifer Gilbert, D.O.
2004     Brian D. Wickham, M.D.
2003     William A. Tisdall, M.D.
2002     Baihan Li, M.D.
2000     Fernando Gutierrez, M.D.
1994     Jeffrey Taekman, M.D.
1991     John C. Keifer, M.D. - New Investigator Award
1990     David Fehr, M.D. - Research Starter Grant; Marilyn G. Larach, M.D. - Research Starter Grant
1989     J. Eric Greensmith, M.D., Ph.D. 
1998     Steven E. Zgleszewski, M.D.
1987     Thomas M. Skeehan, M.D. - Research Starter Grant
1985     William Andrew Kofke, M.D., M.B.A., F.C.C.M. - New Investigator Award