Viral Oncogenesis and Host Defense

Program Members

Bonneau, Robert, Ph.D.
Professor, Microbiology and Immunology, College of Medicine, HY
Expertise: Neuroendocrine effects on dendritic cell function and on the immune response to spontaneously occurring tumors
rbonneau@psu.edu

Cameron, Craig, Ph.D.
Paul Berg Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Eberly College of Science, UP
Expertise: Function of hepatitis C virus (HCV) nonstructural proteins and derivation of novel lethally mutagenic RNA analogues as HCV antivirals
cec9@psu.edu

Christensen, Neil, Ph.D.
Professor of Pathology, College of Medicine, HY
Expertise: Papillomavirus epitopes, antibody generation and vaccine development; development of HLA-A2.1 transgenic rabbits for the study of human papilloma virus (HPV) and evaluating HPV vaccines
ndc1@psu.edu

Craven, Rebecca, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, College of Medicine, HY
Expertise: Genetic and structural biology approaches to determine the function of the capsid protein in the retrovirus life cycle so as to identify molecules that block CA assembly
rcraven@psu.edu

Drabick, Joseph, M.D.
Professor of Medicine, College of Medicine, HY
Expertise: Immunology, tumor vaccines, melanoma, sarcoma, GU malignancies
jdrabick@hmc.psu.edu

Du, Ping, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Medicine and Public Health Sciences, College of Medicine, HY
Expertise: Etiology of HPV-associated cancers
ping.du@psu.edu

Frisque, Richard, Ph.D.
Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Eberly College of Science, UP
Expertise: Pathogenic and oncogenic mechanisms of human polyomaviruses
rjf6@psu.edu

Hafenstein, Susan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Medicine, College of Medicine, HY
Expertise: Viral infectivity, tropism, evolution and pathogenicity; conformational changes of the virus capsid, cryoEM
shafenstein@hmc.psu.edu

Hankey, Pamela, Ph.D.
Professor of Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences, College of Agricultural Science, UP
Expertise: Cellular signaling and stress response pathways in early stages of leukemogenensis; cellular responses to human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)
phc7@psu.edu

Hu, Jianming, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, College of Medicine, HY
Expertise: Identification of novel targets that inhibit the hepatitis B virus (HBV) life cycle and interrupt HBV persistence
juh13@psu.edu

Irby, Rosalyn, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine, College of Medicine, HY
Expertise: Signaling pathways in large granular lymphocyte leukemia
rirby@psu.edu

Katzman, Michael, M.D.
Professor of Medicine and Microbiology and Immunology, College of Medicine, HY
Expertise: Identification of targets for next generation of HIV integrase inhibitors and small compounds that promote suicide of HIV DNA prior to integration
mkatzman@psu.edu

Lukacher, Aron, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Microbiology and Immunology, College of Medicine, HY
Expertise: Viral immunology and pathogenesis 
alukacher@hmc.psu.edu

Meyers, Craig, Ph.D. - Program Leader
Distinguished Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, College of Medicine, HY
Expertise: Use of differentiated human epithelia in raft cultures to study the complete life cycle of multiple HPV types; HPV types and HPV related cancers in rural PA; co-carcinogenesis of HPV and tobacco products
cmeyers@psu.edu

Norbury, Christopher, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, College of Medicine, HY
Expertise: Rationale design of anti-viral and anti-tumor vaccines; direct presentation of peptides, cross- priming and innate immune responses
cnorbury@psu.edu

Parent, Leslie, M.D.
Professor of Medicine and Microbiology and Immunology, College of Medicine, HY
Expertise: Nuclear trafficking of the retroviral Gag protein; structural analyses of retroviral Gag protein in complex with RNA
lparent@psu.edu

Paulson, Robert, Ph.D.
Professor of Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences, College of Agricultural Sciences, UP
Expertise: Understanding the early stages of leukemogenesis using the Friend leukemia virus model
rfp5@psu.edu

Sample, Clare, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, College of Medicine, HY
Expertise: Function of EBV proteins in B cell transformation
csample@hmc.psu.edu

Sample, Jeffery, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, College of Medicine, HY
Expertise: Function of EBV proteins and the role of EBV in Burkitt lymphoma
jsample@hmc.psu.edu

Schell, Todd, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, College of Medicine, HY
Expertise: Mechanisms of T-cell-based immunotherapy of tumors; clinical correlative immunological responses that result from cancer therapy in patients
tschell@psu.edu

Song, Jianxun, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, College of Medicine, HY
Expertise: Co-stimulation in T lymphocyte memory and immune cell differentiation from induced pluripotent stem cells jus35@psu.edu

Truckenmiller, Mary Ellen, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, College of Medicine, HY
Expertise: Neuro-endocrine modulation of dendritic cell function (maturation, antigen presentation, cytokine production, migration) in the initial steps of T cell-mediated anti-viral/tumor immunity
met11@psu.edu

Wills, John, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, College of Medicine, HY
Expertise: Understanding dynamic events in the herpes virus tegument to provide new targets for disrupting assembly of human herpesviruses and thereby eliminating infection.
jwills@psu.edu

Xiong, Na, Ph.D.
Associate  Professor Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences, College of Agricultural Sciences, UP
Expertise: Development and function of innate lymphocytes.
nux1@psu.edu

Zheng, Hong, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor Medicine, College of Medicine, HY
Expertise: Mechanisms of cancer immune-modulation and development of novel therapies for relapsed leukemia
hzheng@hmc.psu.edu