Penn State Hershey Nursing

Welcome to Penn State Hershey Nursing

Sherry Kwater, M.S.M., B.S.N., R.N., Chief Nursing Officer

Sherry Kwater, M.S.M., B.S.N., R.N., Chief Nursing Officer

Welcome to the Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center, central Pennsylvania's only academic, Level I regional trauma center, and tertiary care provider.

Thank you for the opportunity to share with you why I am so proud to be a Penn State Hershey Nurse!

Our prestigious recognition as a Magnet accredited hospital is an honor that reaffirms the value of the hard work and dedication we exhibit everyday.  Learn more >>

Daisy Award Nominations

The DAISY award is an award recognizing nurses for delivering skillful, compassionate care. DAISY is an acronym for Diseases Attacking the Immune System. The award was created in memory of Patrick Barnes who died at the age of 33 of complications of Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura (ITP). The DAISY Foundation was established by Patrick's family to keep his spirit alive. The primary mission of the DAISY Foundation is to express profound gratitude to nurses for the work they do for patients and their families every day.

Click here to nominate one of our staff members and for additional information regarding this award.

Tangent Medical Blog - 2014 Nurses Choice Awards

Elizabeth Bajc, BSN, RN, MIMCU received the 2014 Nurses' Choice Award presented by Tangent Medical to honor nurses who demonstrate excellence in improving patient comfort, satisfaction, safety, and quality care.

Read the full article at Tangent Medical Blog, 2014 Nurses Choice Awards!


Gold-Level Beacon Award Received

The American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) recently conferred a gold-level Beacon Award for Excellence on the Medical Intensive Care Unit (MICU).  MICU is one of only four units in Pennsylvania to receive this recognition.  The Beacon Award for Excellence, a significant milestone on the path to exceptional patient care and healthy work environments, recognizes unit caregivers who successfully improve patient outcomes and align practices with AACN's six Healthy Work Environment Standards.  Units that achieve this three-year award with gold, silver, or bronze designations meet national criteria consistent with Magnet Recognition, the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, and the National Quality Healthcare Award.

Read the full article on Penn State news.