Health Physics

The Health Physics Division is responsible for conducting the radiation safety program throughout Penn State Hershey Medical Center. Our purpose is to ensure radiation safety for radiation users, whether they be biomedical researchers experimenting with substances labeled with radioisotopes, medical professionals utilizing radiation for diagnosis or therapy, or patients benefiting from the use of radiation sources to improve their health.

  • Consultation to physicians and researchers
  • Routine monitoring for individuals and the working environment
  • Management of the radioactive waste disposal system
  • Radiation emergency response
  • Instruction of staff and students in various aspects of radiation safety, including:
    • Radiation Safety Procedures
    • Instrumentation and Radiation Detection
    • Statistics of Radiation Counting
    • Radiation Biology
    • Radiation/Radioisotope Experimental Design
    • Radiation Emergency Response
    • Rules and Regulations
    • Licensing

For consultation, please call the Health Physics Office at (717) 531-8027.

  • Steven H. King, CHP, CMHP, Senior Instructor & Director, Division of Health Physics
  • Michael C. Erdman, CHP, CMHP, Senior Instructor, Associate Health Physicist
  • Karen L. Brown, CHP, DABR, Senior Instructor, Associate Health Physicist
  • Bryan E. Achey, RRPT, Associate Health Physicist
  • Brian J. Lorah, Assistant Health Physicist
  • Steven P. Leibig, RRPT, Health Physics Specialist 
  • Kim Powell, Health Physics Specialist
  • Margaret A. Gambino, Administrative Support Assistant
  • Becky A. Robertson, Administrative Support Assistant